- Small Business Support ↗
Northeast Oregon Economic Development District · Examined 2026-10-14
The district’s own program page: revolving loan fund and intermediary relending at up to 50 or 75 percent of project cost with 10 percent owner equity and loans capped at $250,000; microloans to $40,000 over one to five years at 7.25 to 17.25 percent with 5 percent equity; matched savings accounts; Kiva loans to $15,000 at no interest through Reinventing Rural; coaching and classes. Rates and terms change; the page gives no date.
- Small-business grants soon available in NE Oregon ↗
Wallowa County Chieftain · Examined 2026-10-14
February 11, 2025. Business Oregon’s Economic Equity Investment Program, administered by NEOEDD: $48,000 for Wallowa and Union county businesses, up to $4,000 for existing registered businesses and $2,000 for new ones, with a ten-week planning class as a condition; applications February 17 to March 16, 2025. A one-year round; whether it repeats is not stated.
- About Us; Lending Services ↗
Nimiipuu Community Development Fund · Examined 2026-10-14
A certified Native community development financial institution at 95 Agency Road, Lapwai, Idaho, serving tribal and non-tribal community members on or near the Nez Perce Reservation across Idaho, Oregon and Washington. Business, consumer, credit-builder and home-improvement loans; 14 small-business loans totaling about $270,000 from 2016 to 2024, by its own count. No amounts, rates or terms are published.
- Loans (ATNI Loan Program) ↗
Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians Economic Development Corporation · Examined 2026-10-14
Loans of $5,000 to $125,000, larger by negotiation, for land, buildings, equipment, working capital and buyouts, to businesses owned by members of ATNI member tribes and to businesses that benefit a member tribe; members’ businesses get first priority; applications reviewed at a monthly committee meeting. The page says its rates are not the most competitive on the market. The Nez Perce Tribe is an ATNI member.
- Lending Services ↗
Nixyáawii Community Financial Services · Examined 2026-10-14
The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation’s Treasury-certified lender: consumer, education and homeownership loans for enrolled CTUIR members, including a land-lease loan in the Nixyáawii neighborhood. A 2022 interview with its director said it had training partners but no small-business loan product yet; the current page lists none.
- Indian Loan Guarantee and Insurance Program ↗
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, Division of Capital Investment · Examined 2026-10-14
Guarantees or insures up to 90 percent of a lender’s loan to an enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe or to a business at least 51 percent Native-owned; the lender applies; about 20 percent equity is typical; casinos and some other business types are excluded. A guarantee, not a grant.
- Section 184 Indian Housing Loan Guarantee Program ↗
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development · Examined 2026-10-14
Home-loan guarantee for members of federally recognized tribes, on or off tribal land, for one-to-four-unit homes through approved lenders in approved areas; HUD expanded eligibility to the whole state of Oregon in 2005. The current county map and 2026 loan limits are in Dear Lender Letter 2026-04; confirm Oregon’s listing before relying on it.
- Native American Small Business Assistance Programs ↗
Oregon Small Business Development Center Network · Examined 2026-10-14
The state network’s list of Native business programs, including ONABEN, the Portland-based training organization founded in 1991 by four Oregon tribes whose Indianpreneurship courses are open regardless of tribal affiliation, and the Native lenders that serve Oregon. Training, not capital.
- Nez Perce Tribe celebrates two women empowering small businesses ↗
Idaho Business Review · Examined 2026-10-14
May 30, 2023. The Nez Perce Tribe’s small-business program, its federally funded community navigator pilot, and the Nimiipuu Community Development Fund as supports for a Lewiston remodeling company; names the navigator program’s director. The navigator grant was time-limited; its current status is not stated.
- Grants Available to Bring Indigenous Tourism to Forest Service Lands ↗
Native News Online · Examined 2026-10-14
The 2026 NATIVE Act grant run by the American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association with the U.S. Forest Service: up to $50,000 to tribal nations, tribal enterprises and Indigenous nonprofits for tourism on or near Forest Service lands; applications were due May 1, 2026, with projects complete by May 1, 2027. Individuals cannot apply.
- Native American Business Development Institute (NABDI) Grant ↗
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs · Examined 2026-10-14
Feasibility-study grants to tribes and tribal organizations, typically $25,000 to $75,000 when funded. The page states there are no offerings for the foreseeable future.
- Rural Microentrepreneur Assistance Program ↗
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Development · Examined 2026-10-14
Loans and grants to microenterprise development organizations, including nonprofits and tribes, which relend to rural businesses with ten or fewer employees in microloans under $50,000. A business reaches it through an intermediary, not directly.
- Grants and Funding ↗
Travel Oregon · Examined 2026-10-14
The Competitive Grants Program, ten percent of Travel Oregon’s budget since 2017 and more than $26.4 million awarded, to enhance, expand and promote the state’s tourism industry; 2026 letters of intent April 7 to 27, awards September 23. The page does not state who is eligible or the award range.
- Outfitter Guide Registration ↗
Oregon State Marine Board, via the Secretary of State’s license directory · Examined 2026-10-14
Annual outfitter-guide registration, $350 (charter guides with Coast Guard credentials $500), with a current liability certificate of at least $500,000 per occurrence naming the Marine Board, hands-on first aid and CPR, and a $5,000 surety bond where client deposits are taken; a Coast Guard or Marine Board operator credential for motorized boats. Fees changed recently; confirm with the board.
- Rules of the Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board (IDAPA 24.35.01) ↗
Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses · Examined 2026-10-14
Idaho licenses outfitters and guides separately from Oregon, with minimum qualifications, fees, safety standards and river-by-river limits; the Snake through Hells Canyon forms the state line, and Oregon-side outfitters describe holding both. The Forest Service administers Hells Canyon outfitting in coordination with this board under a memorandum of understanding.
- Passes and Permits, Wallowa-Whitman National Forest ↗
U.S. Forest Service · Examined 2026-10-14
A permit is required to float the Wild and Scenic Snake at any time of year; the primary season, from the Friday before Memorial Day to September 10, is run through the Four Rivers lottery, with limited commercial launches each day. The Hells Canyon office in Clarkston, (509) 758-0616, handles special-use permits.
- Comprehensive Management Plan, Appendix H: Outfitter and Guide Operating Guidelines ↗
U.S. Forest Service, Hells Canyon National Recreation Area · Examined 2026-10-14
New outfitter and guide permits are evaluated every three years; the need to raise use or issue new permits is analyzed when a significant number of existing outfitters have used 70 percent or more of their assigned days; new permittees are chosen through a prospectus and rated on evaluation criteria; services for senior citizens, people with disabilities, minority groups and youth groups are among the needs that can justify additional services. Float and powerboat permits on the Wild and Scenic Snake follow the 1999 river plan.