Acquired 2026-09-13; the service reports a 2026-09-12 update. This reconciles to the published service, not an independently audited count of legal parcels. The public layer includes a repeating lot suffix and a source feature ID; full assessor identifiers, owner names, values and zoning are not supplied.
| Dataset | Published features | Source date | Coverage and interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mineral assay locations ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 4 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | DOGAMI assay location records. They do not establish mineral ownership, reserves, or allowed extraction. |
| Building risk-study points ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 9,708 | 2022-03-30 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 9,708 building points from the 2021 risk assessment. Population estimates, private owner fields, and historical map-taxlot identifiers are not exposed. |
| Building footprints · 2021 study ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 9,703 | 2022-03-30 Acquired 2026-09-13 | DOGAMI O-22-03: 9,703 footprint polygons and 9,708 assessment points are distinct inventories from the 2021 risk study. Building characteristics are historical study inputs, not current assessments. |
| City limits ↗ Wallowa County | 4 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| County boundary ↗ Wallowa County | 1 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Mapped geologic faults ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 600 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | DOGAMI OGDC 8 mapped fault traces. The public layer does not establish activity age, earthquake probability, or a site-specific setback. |
| Federal subsurface mineral interests ↗ Bureau of Land Management, Oregon State Office | 4,588 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | BLM federal subsurface-interest codes. These are distinct from surface ownership and mineral occurrences. None means no federal mineral interest in this compilation, not that no private or state mineral rights exist. Consult Master Title Plats and title records for a specific interest. Displayed acres are computed from county-clipped geometry, not recorded legal acreage. Source observation/update date is unspecified. |
| Fire districts ↗ Wallowa County | 8 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Geologic units · OGDC 8 ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 1,166 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | DOGAMI Oregon Geologic Data Compilation release 8. County-clipped bedrock and surficial units compiled from maps of differing scales and dates. Not a site investigation or a mineral-rights inventory. |
| Historical mining case locations · closed ↗ Bureau of Land Management, Oregon State Office | 76 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | BLM MiningClaims closed-case layer, distinct from the smaller HUB recent-change extract. PLSS-derived case locations are often broader than staked boundaries; geocoding can omit cases. These closed cases do not establish current ownership or extraction rights. Claimant names are not acquired. Displayed acres are computed from county-clipped geometry, not recorded legal acreage. Source observation/update date is unspecified. |
| Livestock districts ↗ Wallowa County | 2 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Public land management ↗ Oregon Department of Forestry / GEO | 519 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | Public-land management compilation. A management polygon does not establish public access or the ownership of subsurface minerals. |
| Mineral occurrences and historic workings ↗ Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries | 332 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | MILO historical mineral occurrences, prospects and mines. Presence is not evidence of an economically recoverable deposit, mineral ownership, or permission to mine. |
| County taxlots ↗ Wallowa County | 8,611 | 2026-09-12 Acquired 2026-09-13 | All 8,611 features in the county public service. OBJECTID identifies the source feature; lot suffixes repeat and are not complete assessor IDs. Area is calculated from geometry. Service-wide edit date is not an individual boundary survey date. |
| Voting precincts ↗ Wallowa County | 12 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Mapped riparian areas ↗ US Fish and Wildlife Service | 13 | 2026-05 Acquired 2026-09-13 | USFWS National Wetlands Inventory, May 2026 state release clipped to Wallowa County. Mapping imagery dates vary; see the wetland mapping dates layer. Not a jurisdictional delineation, permit decision, or evidence that unmarked land is dry. |
| Road centerlines ↗ US Census Bureau | 6,913 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 2025 TIGER/Line release, selected or clipped to the county. Release year does not establish the observation date of every feature. |
| School districts ↗ US Census Bureau | 9 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 2025 TIGER/Line release, selected or clipped to the county. Release year does not establish the observation date of every feature. |
| Soil map units · SSURGO ↗ USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service | 28,868 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | USDA NRCS Soil Data Access county-intersecting map units, clipped to the county boundary. Participating survey catalogs last restored August–September 2025; field observations vary in date. Map-unit summaries can contain several soil components. They are not parcel-specific testing, zoning, septic approval, or a development determination. |
| Streams and water lines ↗ US Census Bureau | 1,620 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 2025 TIGER/Line release, selected or clipped to the county. Release year does not establish the observation date of every feature. |
| Surface management & ownership classes ↗ Bureau of Land Management, Oregon State Office | 297 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | BLM compilation of surface status. BLM states that ownership records outside federal lands are incomplete. Private land is classified without naming individuals or businesses; agency categories describe mapped status, not a title opinion, public access, or parcel-level beneficial ownership. Displayed acres are computed from county-clipped geometry, not recorded legal acreage. Source observation/update date is unspecified. |
| Census tracts ↗ US Census Bureau | 3 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 2025 TIGER/Line release, selected or clipped to the county. Release year does not establish the observation date of every feature. |
| Urban growth boundaries ↗ Wallowa County | 4 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Lakes and water areas ↗ US Census Bureau | 55 | 2025 Acquired 2026-09-13 | 2025 TIGER/Line release, selected or clipped to the county. Release year does not establish the observation date of every feature. |
| Groundwater rights ↗ Oregon Water Resources Department | 40 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | OWRD places of use, clipped to the county. Coverage omits some irrigation-district and other rights. A mapped water right is not proof of current availability or transferability. Holder names and private contact fields are omitted. |
| Surface-water rights ↗ Oregon Water Resources Department | 1,747 | Not specified Acquired 2026-09-13 | OWRD places of use, clipped to the county. Coverage omits some irrigation-district and other rights. A mapped water right is not proof of current availability or transferability. Holder names and private contact fields are omitted. |
| Wetland mapping dates ↗ US Fish and Wildlife Service | 83 | 2026-05 Acquired 2026-09-13 | Project metadata accompanying the May 2026 USFWS National Wetlands Inventory download. Image year and scale describe source evidence, not a field inspection of an individual parcel. |
| Wetlands and deepwater habitats ↗ US Fish and Wildlife Service | 16,033 | 2026-05 Acquired 2026-09-13 | USFWS National Wetlands Inventory, May 2026 state release clipped to Wallowa County. Mapping imagery dates vary; see the wetland mapping dates layer. Not a jurisdictional delineation, permit decision, or evidence that unmarked land is dry. |
| Wilderness areas ↗ Wallowa County | 3 | 2025-12-02 Acquired 2026-09-13 | County-published public service. Service edit date is not a legal effective date. |
| Enterprise zoning · 2023 ↗ Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development / GEO | 203 | 2023-06-30 Acquired 2026-09-13 | Enterprise coverage only. Joseph, Lostine, Wallowa and unincorporated county are not provided in this public statewide release. Consult current local zoning before determining allowed uses. |
Ownership and mineral interests
Read the ownership evidence and area analysis ↗. Surface ownership, improvement ownership, mineral interests and claims use distinct records.
Still to acquire or verify
Current countywide zoning and comprehensive-plan designations; full assessor map-taxlot and account identifiers; assessment attributes; current permit inventories; county road rights-of-way; broadband, utility service areas, and additional ecological layers. Source discovery and downloads continue; these are not implied by a parcel outline.
Downloaded research, not yet mapped
The complete DOGAMI O-22-03 GIS bundle includes flood-depth raster grids for four recurrence intervals. These were downloaded with the building study, but have not yet been prepared for browser display. They are not presented as current FEMA regulatory flood zones.
Eleven official county map PDFs have also been downloaded, along with metadata and saved download links for 932 county-intersecting lidar elevation tiles. The elevation tiles themselves remain available for acquisition on demand.
Official county maps
- City of Enterprise ↗
- City of Joseph ↗
- City of Lostine ↗
- City of Wallowa ↗
- Flora Unincorporated Community ↗
- Imnaha Unincorporated Community ↗
- Joseph School District ↗
- Minam Unincorporated Community ↗
- South Wallowa Lake ↗
- Troy School District ↗
- Wallowa County School Districts ↗
Flood coverage needs care
The national FEMA service query returned a neighboring county’s feature, not Wallowa County FIRM records. That result is not displayed as county flood coverage. Consult FEMA and local floodplain records; the downloaded DOGAMI flood-depth study is a separate source.
How layers become public
Downloads keep their original source metadata and checksums. County or county-intersecting features are selected, projected to WGS84, and validated before a whole layer replaces its previous version. The map streams vector tiles instead of transferring every feature to the browser. Regional outlines are simplified for display; closer zooms, calculations and feature records use the full geometry. Private names, mailing addresses, and water-right holder details are excluded from public map properties.
Area, use, and possibility
Parcel acreage is calculated from geometry. It is distinct from surveyed or assessed acreage. Building-study uses are dated observations, zoning is a regulatory designation from its source date, and mineral occurrences are research records. None of those alone establishes development capacity, mineral rights, water availability, or permission to enter land.